If you read The Harness of the Lord, you’ll see (if you didn’t know this already), that some people move on further in their relationship with Christ than do many people that are just ‘saved’.

worship12In the ‘just saved’ level, there are numerous freedoms. Which church you’ll go to, what Bible school, which job, who you’ll minister to, and so on. As the Holy Spirit begins to lead you though, you don’t have those same freedoms. Progressing on, which can go for many years, He will require stricter and stricter obedience – if you submit.

When I started this blog and was trying to choose a name ‘girl, apprehended’ popped into my head from who-knows-where and I couldn’t shake it (hard as I actually tried). Nothing else seemed right. I believe this was the Father’s choice. By the spirit I was restrained from anything else, not forcibly, but guided by the spirit in my seeking after Him.

To be ‘apprehended’ is to me to be beyond the point of no return in a sense. It is NEVER an issue any longer of my falling away, or not knowing if I am baptised in the Holy Spirit, or wonder if I have ever heard His voice. All of this has been established. He has clearly apprehended me and now, like the scripture above says, it is time I am to apprehend that for which I have been apprehended.

Just like those that see themselves as saved from sin (Jesus died on the cross so they don’t have to) and they stay there, so do many that come as far as having it established in them that they are born of His spirit, and hear His voice. But they too must go further than this. There is ALWAYS further to go. Not even Paul had arrived and He has done far more by the spirit than any other Christian I know so far.

We must be willing to go further on. We must ask to go further on, seek to go further on and knock to go further on. This is the Way of the cross. Do we really think this is as far as we need to go into Him when we look at the early disciples and see all that Christ required of them? If you have been apprehended you know in your spirit if He is calling you on. It may not be in the words of the language you speak, because He often speaks without words, but you know. He’s asking if you will take up your cross and follow Him.

Those that think being a Christian is about knowing Jesus died on the cross so we don’t have to, don’t realize what He shows us as we move on and grow up in Him, that He died on the cross so WE CAN TOO! He is transforming us OUT OF our sinful nature and INTO His nature. And it happens here on earth in this life.

The further you go and grow you will discover that one of the first things nailed to your cross is your ‘religion’. You may not think you’re even religious, but He’ll show you how you are and in what areas of your life.

What else gets nailed to your cross? What doesn’t? But since you asked a short list would be:jesus12

  • your values
  • your friendships
  • your relationships
  • your bank account
  • your spiritual beliefs
  • your spiritual gifts
  • your ministry

and more…

Obviously this doesn’t happen all at once, and many of these are not as difficult for some as for others. There isn’t any way of knowing (which is a good thing) how deep the pain and suffering of your death will go. If you truly want to worship Him in spirit and in truth, be like Him as He is and want nothing in your life to be more important to you than Him, than you have to go this way. There is no other way deeper into Him.

I would like to hear what the Lord is doing in you. It gives me encouragement when I’m struggling. It gives me hope when I’m down.

Have you counted the cost? Will you pick up your cross? Have you already? What has your experience been to follow after Him? What has been nailed and crucified on your cross?